Our retail store will be closed from August 8-August 14

F.A.Q.

F.A.Q.

How long do bonbons last?
Bonbons will last a minimum of two weeks from your selected pickup date. Ganache & caramel-filled bonbons should be consumed within 2-3 week period. Bonbons containing dried fruit, nut, and candied inclusions tend to last up to 8 weeks if properly stored. We suggest that you place your bonbon order as close as possible to the date they will be gifted or consumed.
How long do chocolate bars last?
You can expect our inclusion bars (bars that have nuts, fruit, and herbs) to last three months from the production date listed on the back. Solid bars and novelty chocolates with no inclusions or just salt will last a full year from their date of production.
How do I store my chocolate?
Chocolate should be stored in a cool, dry place away from sunlight. 
68 degrees is the optimal temperature for keeping chocolate, but anywhere between 65-70 degrees is good. No refrigeration is necessary, if you must refrigerate it is best to store in the low humidity drawer. If chocolate gets too hot the cocoa butter will rise to the surface causing fat-bloom leaving white dots or cloudiness on the surface, if it gets too cold it will sweat as it reaches room temperature causing a sticky residue on the surface. Chocolate is temperamental!
What is ganache?
Ganache is an emulsion of chocolate & cream. Our vegan ganaches are produced with dark chocolate and we use tahini as the substitute for cream.
What chocolate is vegan?
Cacao is naturally vegan and gluten free! Our chocolate bars 62% and above are free of dairy & animal products. Vegan bonbons are available as an option in our bonbon boxes, we carry a limited amount of vegan options. Only a few items we carry have gluten in them, our hazelnut praline and anything with crisp pearls in it, currently our Lunar Landing bark.  Chocolatá's Hot Cocoa & Sipping Chocolate mixes are vegan & gluten-free, and is easily prepared with alternative dairy-free milk & creams if preferred.
What is the difference between fine chocolate & commercial chocolate?
The short answer is that everything is different! 
In the industry, fine chocolate is referred to as couverture, it has a much higher cocoa content and lower sugar content. It must contain 33% or more cocoa butter to be considered couverture and is produced using better quality ingredients like single origin beans, pure cane sugar and good quality milk in white and milk chocolates. There are no fillers or artificial ingredients in couverture unlike mass produced commercial chocolate.
Where does Chocolatá source chocolate from?
We use mostly South America couverture from companies that work with sustainable farms, Republica Del Cacao, one of our larger suppliers is a B-Corp company with a wonderful team dedicated to providing positive relationships with farmers, providing education on sustainability practices and professional support. South America's unique climate produces the majority of the worlds finest cacao, which is why it's our number one choice for sourcing our products.
Do you have gluten-free chocolate?
All of our chocolate is gluten-free with only a few exceptions (hazelnut praline bonbon and the cocoa pearls that adorn our Lunar Landing! Even our chocolate granola is made with gluten free oats.  Chocolatá's Hot Cocoa & Sipping Chocolate mixes are vegan & gluten-free, and is easily prepared with alternative dairy-free milk & creams if preferred.
What is the difference between Sipping Chocolate & Hot Cocoa?
The main difference is that hot cocoa is made with cocoa powder and sipping chocolate is made with solid chocolate. Our hot cocoa mix also contains some solid chocolate to make it a richer drink and it has cinnamon for spice. Our sipping chocolate contains cayenne pepper for spice.
It's important to note that both Chocolatá's Hot Cocoa & Sipping Chocolate mixes are vegan & gluten-free, and is easily prepared with alternative dairy-free milk & creams if preferred.